I thought it was incredibly beneficial that we got to watch the ‘No-Impact Man’ documentary. I don’t think we as Americans really take into consideration how much we effect our environment and the people living around us. The fact that his main message was to build a stronger community about this green movement was also incredibly touching, knowing that what we would be working for, would be for the greater good of everyone, not just focusing in on ourselves or our family unit.

One of the things I would like to do once I live on my own would be to start keeping bees. It was really interesting to learn from my fellow classmate (whose name escapes me) how simple it was to care for them and being aware of the disappearing bees issue, I’d like to do my part and help out. Through the help of the Beekeeping Learning Center I found a lot of awesome facts about beekeeping and apiculture (who knew there were bee breeds?). Keeping bees would also be incredibly beneficial to my potential garden I’d like to start. Knowing my plants will be pollinated guarantees that I will have a worthwhile crop for years to come. Not even mentioning my personal excess of honey and beeswax for all of their multiple uses.

Something else I could tackle, with a little bit of determination, would be to convert to a vegetarian diet with a focus on local grown foods. For the local grown part, I feel like I’d need to move to a more agriculturally based state, but the vegetarian part is going to start with the new year. There are tons of advantages of being a vegetarian. First off conservation of Fossil fuel. It takes 78 calories of fossil fuel to produce 1 calorie of beef protein; 35 calories for 1 calorie of pork; 22 calories for 1 of poultry; but just 1 calorie of fossil fuel for 1 calorie of soybeans. That’s insane! Especially knowing how damaging fossil fuels are to the environment in the first place. There is also the risk of exposure to livestock drugs. There are over 20,000 different drugs, including sterols, antibiotics, growth hormones and other veterinary drugs that are given to livestock animals. These drugs are consumed when animal foods are consumed and then transferred into your body.

The easiest switch that I can make is going without a car. Currently I don’t have a car and only borrow my parents now and again. But it would be entirely possible to cut out that convenience entirely and go by bike. I would be lessening my carbon footprint, forcing myself to work out, and save money from maintenance fees and gas. This is something that I feel more people should convert to. This lifestyle helps build community and really puts into perspective how much we go out of our ways and burn fossil fuels unnecessarily.

I will definitely be making these changes to my life once they are feasible.
by: Grace Betts

Leave a Reply

