The Iberian Lynx is a critically endangered species and the most endangered cat species in the world. They are native to the Iberian Peninsula in Southern Europe. Studies from March 2005 estimated that there are only as few as 100 left considering there were about 400 in 2000. If the Iberian Lynx becomes extinct it will be the first big cat species to do so since 10,000 years ago. They have become critically endangered due to habitat loss, poisoning, feral dogs, and poaching.

I find these species to be incredibly beautiful and I would hate to see them go extinct. I chose to do a sculpture because I wanted to show the animal from different angles rather than working 2-D and only showing one angle. Also I wanted to give myself a challenge. The sculpture is relatively small at 5 inches in length and 2 and half inches tall. I used a wire armature and then used polymer clay to sculpt it. I then painted it with acrylic.

 

Caitlin Davis

Leave a Reply

