No Impact Man

Watching “No Impact Man” was an eye opener for me. Being from south, Texas where we didn’t have recycle bins in our neighborhood or anywhere except for a recycling place that you would have to make a drive to. Watching the movie made me realize how much we waste, and how much potential there is to reuse things we would normally throw away. What I noticed after seeing this movie is that I started noticing how much trash I create and how much trash I throw out every week. Also when ordering Chinese take out I realized they put food in plastic bowls with lids that could be reused. The movie really made me feel inspired like that I should be doing something to help our planet and to lower the impact I have on earth. When watching No impact man they lived in the dark at one point, which is crazy but I was thinking about buying energy saving light bulbs since I don’t have any in my house. I also wash most of my clothes in cold water, which is supposed to save energy. Since I was reading in an article that “85 percent of energy from washing clothes comes from using hot water.” What they did looked really hard but I understand they are trying to make a point that if we all make our own changes it will add up. So some of the changes I was thinking about that I could do is to try being a vegetarian. If not, reducing my consumption of meat can help. For example, trying to eat more meals with out meat. I would also want to see where I can get local food and try to buy organic food instead of shopping at Walmart. I would like to become more healthy by buying and eating organic food. I want to respect our planet by recycling, not buying water bottles and changing my way of living. Making small changes can add up with all the people in the world. The movie made me feel like we should act now before its too late.

Here are some website links I found with interesting ways to help!

10 Ways to go green and save green

http://www.worldwatch.org/resources/go_green_save_green

How you can help the environment in your daily life

http://network.earthday.net/profiles/blogs/how-you-can-help-the

21 ways to help the environment

http://www.practicalenvironmentalist.com/21-practical-ways-to-help-the-environment

By April Manuel

One response »

  1. Ryan Schnee says:

    No Impact Man did the same thing for me. I truly realized how much, in the course of a day, I wasted certain things and it really got me. I’ve been trying to keep a conscience mind to not be so wasteful, and so far I’ve been wasting a lot less than I was.

Leave a Reply

