When I think about food diversity and my experiences with it I am automatically reminded of Israel. I went for my entire summer four years ago and it was one of the most amazing experiences of my life. For such a small country the diversity in environmental landscape is mind blowing. A person can walk across Israel in less than four days, from sea to sea, but Israel’s environments range all the way from desert dunes, to a bustling city, to lush forests, to tropic coral reefs, to a skiable mountain. Not only does Israel range vastly in types of environments the diversity of food was amazing as well. Almost everything they eat was locally produced. This helps lessen their dependency on other nations, which is something that is very important to the well being of the country. I remember going to the main milk producing farm that was responsible for making a distributing most of the milk in Israel. I had never seen so many interesting milk products in my life. Products ranged from chocolate milk in a bag, to awesome new types of cheese, to milk chocolate with pop rocks inside, it was such a neat experience. Just imagining one farm was responsible for the majority of the milk in Israel. I’ve never had chocolate milk so delicious. A wide diversity of meats also find their way into Israeli food culture. Lamb, beef, chicken, a modge podge of those meats mixed together, and many more types of meat are an integral part of Israeli diets. But the most important and also seemingly most diverse food group in Israel is the fruit and vegetables. I went to the Jerusalem market in order to buy produce and was blown away by how many choices there were and how affordable everything was. There are like 10 different types of dates alone. I bought three fresh red peppers for a penny. Everything was unbelievably fresh and delicious. It seemed that everything was locally grown and therefore country gets purely national profit and they can charge way less for their produce as well which in my opinion was the best tasting produce I’ve ever had. I believe that the diversity in environment and climate in the country is largely responsible for the wide range of foods available to the every day consumer. With so many different environments they have the ability to grow and cultivate a large number of different foods that would normally not grow in a certain ecosystem. Since Israel has so many different thriving ecosystems it is possible for such growth to happen. For such a small country the food and environmental diversity within Israel is debatably unparalleled by any other country.

One response »

  1. Elaine Wu says:

    Wow, I wish we had that kind of variety here in Sarasota! Israel sounds like a lovely place – I would love to travel there one day!

Leave a Reply

