No Impact Man was a very interesting documentary that really stayed with me after watching it. I went home and told my roommate, my friends and my family about it. I think it has a very important message that more people should hear.

Although what he did was very extreme and 99.9% of people aren’t wiling to give up their lifestyle to create no impact, it really showed us that is IS possible. Before watching this documentery if you were to ask me if I thought it would be possible for someone living in New York City to have almost zero impact, I would say that is absolutely crazy.  What he did in his movie was to show us the different options to live a smaller impact life and how they have affected him positively. I really respect his decision and commend him on his ways. I could adopt a lot his changes with the major expection of no use of toilet paper. I will NEVER use washable clothes for that, sorry. Also, I do love electricity, but I can make sure I’m better at turning off my lights and unplugging unused applicants.

Recently I’ve been making it a point in my routine to go to the farmers market. Sarasota’s farmer market is very dinky, but it’s what we have, so we all need to love it and use it. Just how incredible cheap the food is should be enough to draw in people to use it, let alone acting local and being healthy. Last week I bought enough veggies to last me all whole week and it was only $12, and trust me it was a LOT. My high school was the place that really educated me on the value of sustainable foods. My high school has it’s own green house and farm to feed their students. It’s a small school so it’s possible for them to be self sustainable, but it’s really inspiring. I wish Ringling had a campus garden either for their own food or for students that want to grow their own food.

compost bin, recycle bin, waste bin

Another thing I found interested was his compost. I can imagine it to be really hard to have a compost in NYC. No backyards, a lot of times not even a balcony, so it would make it really hard to have one. When I lived in San Francisco this summer I was really impressed with their waste management. Though it’s a big urban city, they let their residents have a trash bin, a recycle bin and a compost bin. Also in all the urban trashcans there was a separation above the trashcan for recycling bottles. People did actually use it so it was working. Why aren’t other cities following this trend?

– Ann

Leave a Reply

