Banksy (1974 — ) is a graffiti artist from Bristol, UK, whose artwork has appeared throughout London and other locations around the world. Despite this he carefully manages to keep his real name from the mainstream media. Banksy, despite not calling himself an artist, has been considered by some as talented in that respect; he uses his original street art form, often in combination with a distinctive stenciling technique, to promote alternative aspects of politics from those promoted by the mainstream media.

I have loved Banksy’s unique work for a long time because of how different it is from all other forms of street art and graffiti. The messages that he sends through his art are clear and very blunt, and I love that. here are some examples of his work:

these messages in the order of the pictures:

Pledge to the Plastic Bag and Cheap Goods.

The degradation and decline of our planet’s future. Can we catch it before it is too late?

The statement sinks as the ice keeps melting…

How long will birdlife survive this assault?

I Remember when all this was trees

The Grim Reaper is steering this oil-filled vessel.

Playing with that which is transitory and volitile to our seas…

here is a link to more of his work and a green inspired website for arts of all kinds with environmental messages

these are some animations

this is banksy’s website

By:Patrick Bradford

11 responses »

  1. bhall1 says:

    Some of these I haven’t seen before, and I didn’t know that Banksy was all about the environment. I like the vulture with the gas pump the most, because along with all the others it sends a strong visual message delivered in a clever way that the masses can understand. I sure do wish he drew his stencils though.

  2. tetchist says:

    I never really thought of Banksy as an environmental artist, what with so much focus on his political messages. This post has definitely made me more aware of his efforts in terms of environmentalism (which, in a very real sense, is also a facet of politics).

  3. Rosaleen Magnone says:

    I also never realized that Banksy did so much environmental art or that he was from the UK. I like the global warming message because even though it isn’t artistically appealing it is still visually startling and the title “The statement sinks as the ice keeps melting” is so fitting. The piece gets it’s point across quickly and efficiently.

  4. I would have never guessed that Bansky would be an environmental artist!
    Yet i know that many of his art works have a meaning or reason behind them. So its facinating to see some of his works reflect the environment! Its also cool to see someone today using a very modern type of art to get a message about the environment across to the world.
    He’s like an icon too! so its not like people aren’t going to see his work.

    -Asage

  5. I’ve seen Bansky’s artwork pop up from time to time, and I thought that some of his topics were related to the environment. Glad to see my thoughts were right!

    Oh, and I loved the link to the animations! The one called ‘Windmills’ was beautiful. Even though the small bit of dialogue was in French, I still knew what was going on by the setting and emotions of the environment and characters.

    Klarissa Parduba

  6. Going with what everyone has already said, I’m glad Banksy is being included in this weeks blog post because even though he isn’t exclusively an “environmental artist” (few are), many of his pieces have a very strong environmental message. The nice thing about Banksy is his tongue-in-cheek approach, how accessible he makes the message, and the amount of exposure he gets makes him a valuable asset to any cause he is making art about.

    It’s funny because we were talking in class about how scientists sometimes have a hard time making their message get the attention of the masses, and how artists could bridge that gap. Well, Banksy does it best. Cool animations by the way.

    -Victor

  7. I am a fan of Banksy—glad that you thought to include him here.
    -Karla

  8. Definitely a big Banksy fan. I’ve been following his work for a while and I think he was a good choice for this assignment. He’s so mysterious and really gets his messages across.

  9. I love Banksy’s work. However, I was unfamiliar with his environmentally based material. I like him even more now.

    ~CJ Hipp

  10. Totally love Banksy, but I didn’t realize that he did environmental work as well as politically charged stuff. Gives him a whole other dimension that is really interesting.

  11. Amanda Koh says:

    I’ve always thought of Banksy as a more political artist. These pictures are a great reference to his environmental work. I guess politics and environmental problems go hand in hand very much so its great that he included that in his art scope.

Leave a Reply

