Born and brought up in East Africa, a country called Tanzania! I have lived with the minimum amount of resources available to me, and learned how to use it for the most amount of time. And knowing how things work in both sides of the world, I can tell you, not to be biased BUT people in America, takes things for granted and DO NOT cherish what they have.

YOU DO NOT have power cuts (electricity) cuts 12 hrs a day, YOU DO NOT have water shortages MORE THAN 6 months in a yr, due to lack of rain… and corruption so much that no aid ever gets to the people who really need it, sad but true. BUT still they care about the environment, they know how to live with little and get the most out of it.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-africa-14192896

5 LITTLE THINGS THAT WE DO! IN NORMAL DAY LIVES! THAT MAKES SO MUCH DIFFERENCE

1. SWITCH OFF. THE LIGHTS OR ANY OUTLET WHEN YOU DONT USE IT!

2. TURN OFF. WATER WHEN NOT USING IT! IE. BETWEEN SHOWERS, BRUSHING, WASHING UTENSILS!

3. REUSE THE WATER, IE. DIRTY WATER FROM THE DISHES CAN BE USED TO WATER PLANTS.. HINT HINT! N SAVE RAIN WATER FOR IRRIGATION

4. DONT NOT USE DISHWASHER / WASHING MACHINE, WHEN YOU CAN DO THE JOB YOURSELF.

5. BIKE/WALK EVERYWHERE

N NO! ARTIFICIAL GM CROPS PRODUCED! OR BOUGHT! EVERYTHING IS FRESH GROWN AND FRESH SOLD! THAT CREATES FOOD, JOB, AND ECONOMY BOOM!:D:D:D:D:D

LINKS that show the TRUE TANZANIA GOING GREEN EFFORTS:

http://sschmiege.blogspot.com/2011/08/going-green.html

http://www.yefafrica.org/index.php?do=/going-green/

http://blog.travelpod.com/travel-photo/therhodesies/1/1236502200/17.jpg/tpod.html

ECO TOURISM – http://www.utalii.com/General_Informaton/culture.html

http://www.chumbeisland.com/Photo%20Gallery/accomodationgallery.htm (:D)

SUSTAINABLE BUILDING DESIGN – http://www.rttz.org/wp-content/uploads/2011/01/Best-practises-in-Tanzania-Sustainable-Building-Design-for-KIUMA-Matemanga.pdf

http://www.globalservicecorps.org/site/tanzania-agriculture-and-food/

By: Chitra Patel

4 responses »

  1. Jillian :D says:

    I really like how you gave us a little perspective where you were from and the living customs that you have to adjust to. I try to be conservative, but now I will try much harder. 🙂

  2. Ciera Fedock says:

    I like your perspective on the issue. I think America’s resource gluttony comes from the whole carpe diem attitude we were founded on as well as the duopoly in our government. Many other countries with completely reasonable water restrictions and food guidelines work because they have politicians who work with the people. We have politicians who work for themselves in constant fear of Party retaliation against their actions.

  3. It’s interesting hearing the disadvantages of the various living circimstances from different countries. We Americans do take advantage of what we have and I’m sure it is very frustrating for you considering you are from Africa where as you listed above have limited resources. I think it is important for people who come from other countries that lack the resources we have here to let people know ways to reduce the amount of resources we waste everyday and start appreciating what we have.

  4. I agree that us Americans do take a lot for granted. I try to not waste everything by eating all of my leftovers, and saving anything, or giving it away to charity, and try following all of the steps you have listed above. I remember one time I got in trouble at work when I was washing dishes because I refused to let the water run continuously, when clearly I was trying to scrub away the crusted on food to pots and pans. I got yelled at! Seriously! Sorry, but in my house I was taught to not waste water.

    Klarissa Parduba

Leave a Reply

