After watching No Impact Man, it definitely gave me the motivation to want to make some changes in my life. I definitely wont be able to live without completely making an i felt that some of his efforts were very extensive. As a college student living in a dorm, there are a lot of things that I cannot control. But there are definitely things that I can change with the help of being aware of my usage. Having watched the documentary on bottled water, I have definitely not bought a single bottle of water since, however there are some things that I do buy that still involve packaging in a plastic bottle. I don’t really think about my energy usage as far as keeping the lights on when they may not be needed. I never really liked the idea of coming home to a dark room, but if it could help the environment in the long run, I should really get over it.

Also, being the busy college student that I am, I don’t always make the time to have a sit down lunch or dinner, so I opt for the take out option, using styrofoam or plastic materials. Making that extra time to sit down and eat my meal in the commons would reduce unnecessary waste.

I have also been making strides towards saving for a bicycle. This would obviously reduce my use of gasoline from driving a car, and reduce pollution. I would be able to get in some exercise in as well. I still don’t really understand why most people don’t have a bicycle, since its seems to be the best option all around especially for short distances or errands.

I also want to work on my water usages by shortening shower time, and not leaving the water running when I brush my teeth. As far as working on some things right now, that seems to be all that comes to mind right way, however once I graduate there are a lot of other things that would be able to do such as composting, my school in Switzerland actually had a compost pile so I am faily familiar with that process.

Johanna Bystedt

4 responses »

  1. You could also try getting your takeout from places such as whole foods. they have a hot and cold bar with lots of organic choices and the best part is that their take out containers are biodegradeable, unlike styrofoam which will literally last for over a million years in a landfill.

  2. A lot of people don’t have a bike because they feel the roads are unsafe for bikers!
    -Karla

  3. Tim L. says:

    Especially here in Sarasota. Tons of old people + GIANT cadillacs does not make a good combination. :/

  4. April Manuel says:

    I have been thinking about how I can change my water usage and also studying it. When I brush my teeth or take a shower I am noticing how I do waste water. For example when I brush my teeth I sometimes leave the water running but I have been turning it off now that I noticed. Also, before I take a shower I usually turn the water on to warm up and while it is running I grab my clothes and towel while the water is on. So now that I know about wasting water I am being more conscious about it and turning it on only a few seconds before I get in the shower instead of leaving it on for minutes.

Leave a Reply

