DIVERSITY IN VEGETARIAN FOOD: INDIA

http://www.diversefoodsystems.org/cs_india.htmlhttp://www.kamat.com/kalranga/food/We only think vegetarian only means vegetable! that’s an illusion! and being a vegetarian all my life, i have never missed out on anything my entire life that people think i did! I still get the same amount of vitamins, proteins, fat, and all other nutrients that i need to be healthy!  there is an substitute for everything. You can get your proteins from various amount of grains and beans! Vitamins from fruits and veggies and list goes on…

These are just a few different kinds of beans, and grains which you can make an infinite different kinds of currys :D:D:D

I follow the indian culture and tradition, and we have millions of vegetarian appetizers, entrees, desserts, etc.. that vary from city to city… that by itself just adds up to the variety, for example i make a curry and indian bread today, tomorrow i can change the form of the curry and eat it with rice.. its that simple, you would never eat leftovers! that way we would always call it newly made, because we are still making something new.. no body could ever think about!

ENTER THE WORLD OF SPICES

http://online-b2b-resource.blogspot.com/2009/08/world-famous-traditional-indian-spices.html

An effort to retain the biodiversity of food!

http://www.iihr.res.in/Default.aspx?id=71

VOICES AGAINST MONSANTO!

http://wakeup-world.com/2011/10/11/indian-government-files-biopiracy-lawsuit-against-monsanto/

CHITRA :D:D:D

6 responses »

  1. Eric De Barros says:

    As a fellow vegetarian (although only for 2 years) I enjoyed this. I agree people seem to think you are limiting options when in fact people who eat meat often eat more repetitive meals than vegetarians, which is the irony of the argument. Also I love how many exclamation points you have in this post, your excitement/energy is appreciated. Anyone reading this should consider being a vegetarian at least part time, like every other meal! Just do a youtube search of animals in the meat industry and I assure you will never want to eat meat again. And if you do then… it should at least be from a place where the animals get to experience life as nature or God (depending on your beliefs) intended.
    Eric

  2. I personally believe that eating less meat is better for you. A friend of mine used to eat a lot of meat back in high school. She was a very aggressive person at first, and hard to approach. After changing a few things in her life, including her eating habits to no meat and more rice, vegetables, etc. she felt a lot better. Her personality changed as well as her outward appearance.
    Since starting college I’ve been eating a lot less meat. I agree that there are many positive out comes to meals that aren’t primarily based on meat products.

    Klarissa Parduba

  3. Tim L. says:

    I admire vegetarians, especially those who become vegetarians later in life, but personally I could never cut meat out of my diet entirely. I know you don’t know this, but meat is DELICIOUS! Be glad of the fact that you can’t miss what you’ve never had.

  4. Dave Swanson says:

    I personally believe I think bacon is delicious. It’s not that I don’t see the appeal of vegetarianism. It is just that I firmly believe that if it isn’t on the endangered species list and its delicious, then I’m gonna eat it.

  5. Jillian :D says:

    You bring up a very good point about the many different varieties of beans and how you can be a vegetarian and still get all the nutrients and vitamins needed. I have always been a meat lover, sorry. I probably always will be. It would be cool to try and be vegetarian for a while, to see what it is like and record the good or bad impacts it can have on my life. It would be interesting to see the results.

  6. I lived in South Korea for a few years when I was in middle school and also experienced a culture that relies mostly on vegetables as a main food source rather than meat. Having had that experience it was very easy for me to transition to a vegetarian diet for the few years that I maintained one. I definitely think that location has an effect on how much diversity of food you can incorporate in your diet. In places that are more culturally diverse like Southern California, I find it much easier to find local, fresh organic foods and even fast food that embraces vegetarianism and sustainability. However in Sarasota almost all the restaurants are huge chains that don’t offer much in the way of vegetarian menus or healthier choices at all. Even Ringling, which claims to support the dietary needs of vegan/vegetarians barely offers more than fried tofu and a salad bar.

Leave a Reply

