I’ve always been a really picky eater. And when I was younger, my mom and I would always have busy schedules and were always on the go. And my mom, as nurturing as she is, she was never the greatest and most extravagant of cooks. Most of the time, it would be frozen box dinners, take out, and especially fast food joints were usually what we resorted too because we weren’t at home often. And since that was basically what my diet was growing up, so all I ate really were burgers, fries, and chicken nuggets, pasta, rice, mashed potatoes  and chicken.

For the majority of my life, I rarely tried new things, and had already rejected the idea of even attempting to eating anything new. And now that I’m 20-year-old and still eat like an 8-year-old, I’ve decided that it’s time I become more open about food diversity.

Living in a new house with new people is definitely a good way to start trying new foods. And one of my roommates is a real health nut foodie. Typically, when there’s time, he makes dinner for all of us, and usually it’s food or a combination of foods that I’ve never tried before. So, of course, attempt to try it at least. And surprisingly I enjoy most of what he makes.

This new house and new roommates has opened my mind to all sorts of new things, including food diversity. And I’d say it’s for the best, in order to be a responsible adult, I can’t just eat McDonalds or order pizza every night.

Amanda Garcia

4 responses »

  1. My sister is a very picky eater too. Though we’ve grown up with two parents who love to cook and take turns making old or new dishes every night, she could just never expand her food diversity. As she’s grown older her friends have helped expand her food palate. It’s hard for someone who’s had the same diet for years change, but I believe that having friends who can introduce you to different foods is more effective then family.

    Klarissa Parduba

  2. Grace Betts says:

    I know her foodie roommate and I love his cooking! He definitely loves to incorporate new flavors and cooking techniques to his everyday pallet. But I also, can empathize with being raised on an incredibly limited diet. Being fed the same things over and over again as an adolescent has effected what foods I will and will not try. Thankfully I’ve also had a huge obsession with Food Network and have had outside of the home chances to try lots of new foods. It’s awesome that you have hopped onto the train of new things!

  3. Maggie says:

    I have always been the exact same way! I wouldn’t eat anything growing up. And still, my favorite food is probably macaroni and cheese- I’m going on 20 years old and it hasn’t changed. My parents would try force me to eat vegetables by bribing me with no desert, but it still wasn’t enough to get me to eat anything healthy, not to mention trying something new and “weird”! I agree with you about really trying new things. I have noticed my palette really expanding as I’m getting older and being introduced to new foods because of Ringling’s diverse culture. When I was little, I wouldn’t even touch a fish stick. Now, I eat all of the sea food I can get, and I prefer it to any other type of meat.

  4. I was a super picky eater as well…
    But something changed just before i started college.
    Possibly my senior year. I suddenly wanted to eat healthier. All I wanted to do is eat healthy food, vegetables, the true good stuff.

    There is actually an article that states that the human taste actually changes during the growth process into adulthood.
    So I account my sudden change in food taste to this strange phenomenon. Or my interest in wanting to eat healthier.

    -Asage

Leave a Reply

