As this was my second time seeing this movie, I was able to think about it with two pairs of eyes. The first time was with a very different group of people as well, and it was interesting to see the class’s reaction this time around because of the type of class it is. The content affected this class for more than my last, and it was good to see people genuinely interested and proactive about having no impact. For me, it’s a personal motive pusher, because the environment is high on my mental list of importance. I grew up with Animal Planet and the Discovery Channel; keeping the Earth the way it should be in order to save the amazing things on it not only affects them, but me, and I want to make my world better for the people living here as well.

I don’t think people really realize just how much we take up. After learning more about or systems for agriculture, processing, transport, and gathering, I’m pretty sickened. And I have made changes in my life that I notice have improved my quality of living. I buy more veggies and fruits then meat, I try to buy from the farmers market (so I only get what’s in season), and I only buy meat from places like Whole foods or Fresh Market (and only locally-butchered meats and caught fish). It’s hard for sure, and I don’t always get to because of money.

I think it’s putting us on a path to eventual suicide by making the things that are good for us hard to reach, and instead, making the worse things more available, and cheaper. It’s such an obvious dilemma and yet I don’t feel like there is nearly enough concern on the subject. The apathy of the world, as discussed in class as well, hinders any chance we can have for making this type of project world-wide. A lot of people have heard about the project, though, and are making changes to their lives where they can. I think part of what’s hard is that the current economy makes it difficult to make these changes without it turning our lives inside out just to accommodate them. Going without electricity? Heating? AC? Biking instead of walking to work? If you live in a city, biking isn’t a problem, but most people have hour-long commutes. Man powered laundry is something I would do, but I can’t see a lot of other people joining in on the “fun”. The things Collin and his family gave up are incredible from the viewpoint of society; however, in reality, these things we see as so important have little actual affect on our lives as far as health and being substantial go. TV is great for news broadcasting and teaching, but entertainment has and can be derived from much more fulfilling means. Live music, storytelling, reading, all of the things we used to do before TV was around. It’s not hard to find joy in the simple things, but todays world clouds our vision and gives us a different view of what’s “important”. I think it’s a good idea to try and make our impact a little less with each passing day.

-Ailish Reilly

One response »

  1. I agree with you. “Junk food” is so readily available and cheap that it makes buying healthy food look too expensive.
    Everyday over the summer I biked to work. I felt better about using the bike than a car.
    Life did exist before TVs, but most of society is too comfortable to change.

    April Marcuzzo

Leave a Reply

