No Impact man was incredible. When we first started watching it I couldn’t help but think of how crazy these people were. The whole no toilet paper thing really threw me off but there are a lot of things that they changed in their lives that I will definitely consider and end up actually doing. This all depends on where people live however, because I feel like if you don’t live in a city it would just be a waste of time and too much hassle to do the n transportation thing if you lived in a rural area. I plan on living in a city when I graduate so I will be walking to and from everywhere as much as possible. The garden is also a fantastic idea. I love me some veggies and gardening is incredibly relaxing. I live in New Hampshire and we live in the woods so my family gardens quite often and we grow our own veggies and they are so much cheaper and better tasting than store bought. I also love the idea of the farmers market I think they should have those everywhere everyday like they do in New York its incredible. I would never do the no washing machine and no electricity thing they did, I love my electronics too much but I already use candles instead of lights at night, its fun and a whole lot nicer on the electricity bill. Doing laundry in the bathtub is a definite no go for me as well, ad so is using baking soda instead of toothpaste I cant imagine that making your mouth feel clean afterwards. the family doing this seemed incredibly happy and joyful when doing some of the activities they did which im pretty sure would not happen had they child been a bit older and less fascinated by everything but im glad they had fun. I would like to try using the cleaning supplies that they made I have never used bleach on anything because of how harmful it is and if what they created does basically the same thing and it is all natural then I am all for it. I like that they were able to cut al the processed foods from their diet that must have been incredibly difficult, I know that I can never do that because my addiction to peanut butter and chocolate is way too strong.

I found a link to home made natural cleaning supplies that I am definitely going to try out
http://eartheasy.com/live_nontoxic_solutions.htm

This lik is about creating raised garden beds for planting veggies and such

http://eartheasy.com/grow_raised_beds.htm

this is a great website it has directories for all different kinds of “green” ways of doing things in your life
http://eartheasy.com/

Patrick Bradford

3 responses »

  1. Jacob Berrier says:

    Living in a rural area could make it easier, instead of having to buy things from the farmers market one could use the space available in a rural area to create a small self sufficient farm.

    I grew up on a partially self sufficient farm, then went to the University of Cincinnati and I found all of the food to taste like crap, it just wasn’t as good. Even the most expensive steaks just weren’t as good as the ones raised at my house.

  2. Eric De Barros says:

    Thanks for those links about natural cleaning supplies! Also, I am happy to see you enjoyed the film to. I understand your point about the electricity, and I think that is actually the hardest thing to give up for most people. It seems like everyone these days numbs their loneliness with facebook, and whats funny is that if we didn’t have internet for a week I bet everyone would get a lot done and bond with people they love. But anyway, I understand and agree electricity is hard to give up, which is why solar power and other forms of more sustainable energy need to be pushed for.
    Eric

  3. Dave Swanson says:

    There is a definite plus to living off the land, and living rural makes it ten times easier. you wouldn’t have to have a compost bin, you could have a compost heap in your backyard. I remember my grandparents had a large metal cylinder that you could turn (kind of resembled a rock tumbler) in their backyard for composting and it worked incredibly well.

Leave a Reply

