No Impact Man definitely stirred me up. I admire people who can really change their lifestyle for the sake of the earth, especially in a city such as New York City. To summarize my feelings throughout the documentary, I sided with the husband at first, viewing his wife as someone who only wanted to give up; she was unsupportive in her attitude, and selfish. As time went on, I sided with the wife as the husband was selfish in not wanting a second child.

I feel like the documentary soon became more about the characters of this event, rather than the project of living a sustainable lifestyle. In a way, though they are tied together, because the project changed their character and attitude towards life. I cannot deny I felt inspired to do the same as they did, and was quite upset at how people treated them and spoke of them. Then again, I am not surprised; people will always be opposed to great change, and will spit upon others in the name of their comfort.

Has the documentary moved me enough to actually change? Not yet. As a college student it is quite difficult to start changing now, especially with roommates. It would probably be wise to work on changing things together since we live together. I do not believe that changing is impossible, but improbable at the moment; my mind is too focused on school and all the work I need to get done, that I have little time even for myself. I would, however, really like to change things once I get a smoother schedule. In the meantime I do try to maintain certain changes to benefit the earth.

Plastic: I do try to not use plastic bottles, in fact I do not remember the last time I ever used plastic bottles. I usually drink water from a cup or at a fountain. I really wish there was something I could do to minimize buying groceries and products that are not wrapped in plastic or contained in plastic. I almost feel hopeless when I go shopping because everything, literally every single item has some plastic material with it.

Water: I try minimizing my water usage, but I tend to slack on that.

Electricity: I have become mindful of all the lights my roommates and I use, so I usually switch things off when no one is using them.

Transportation: eh…yea I still drive. I do not see that changing any time soon. I carry and need many different supplies, canvases, carry-boxes of paints and materials, books and books and library books, etc. I have so many things in my car that I use wherever I go, whether it be school, my apartment, or to a friend’s house. I could bike, but how would I carry what I need to school? What if I forgot something at home? or what if late at night I’m working at the school labs and do not have what I need? So, unfortunately, I need the car. Besides, I had two bikes stolen already with good locks I assure you! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

Food: I am definitely trying to eat as organic as possible, but many times I doubt certain foods are actually organic. I like to read the ingredient list behind products and sometimes I find certain “organic” foods have natural flavors and other synonyms for MSGs. Then there’s the issue of food transportation, and all the fuel it requires. I have been thinking of going to the farmer’s market quite a lot and next semester I will definitely be starting that change. Anyways, organic food is definitely better; the other day I baked organic chocolate chip cookies, and they were awesome!

Garbage: Sigh…what do I do with all the plastics wrappings and containers? I feel like the only option I really have is to just let it be taken away to a landfill.

Sorry this was so long, but I got out all I needed to say.

-Sean Cruz

2 responses »

  1. hahaha that is sooo true! going green! and being a no impact man when you are a college student is truly difficult! as we have our main focus on work, and everything else is always a secondary topic! but all we can do is bit by bit! and it eventually adds up to making a little bit of difference! I am just glad that we are at least NOT ignorant of the facts and are adamant to do something about it!

    Chitra ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. April Manuel says:

    i understand how you feel. I also hope to start shopping at the farmers market next semester but first I need to find out where it is. Also, it is really hard to buy anything without plastic. I feel that in order for us to make a big change the government needs to start first. To help make it easier for us to buy products that are better for our environment. I would hope that as a country we could make a decision together to start making change for our planet.

Leave a Reply

