Marine biodiversity is as a great risk due to the amount of overfishing. It is very important to our own survival, but if this continues it could impact our livelihood. However, with the depletion of fisheries, that also impacts to supply and demand humans need. Click here to learn more.

So what can we do to stop this problem? Treehugger.com has an answer.

Here are some other related articles on overfishing and what we are endangering:

Newser

Overfishing 101

By: Klarissa Parduba

10 responses »

  1. Ann Putney says:

    Wow that amount of fish in that picture is really intense. I always forget that I need to care about over fishing because I have a false sense of security when I eat fish because they are fresh from the ocean (they had great lives swimming in freedom) so I think it’s ok, and it’s not always the case. This was an interesting article

    – Ann Putney

  2. laura wood says:

    when I looked at the “Newser” link, I saw an article about possibly banning deep sea fishing altogether. He compared fishing to “Mining.” This is frightening because when I think of mining I think of an irreplaceable resource that we are mindlessly taking from the earth. We are essentially taking and giving nothing back. How can average people help stop over fishing?

  3. laura wood says:

    Overfishing 101 shows that we have been doing this for centuries but just now we are foreseeing the consequences of our actions. The shame is just that. We know what we are doing is wrong and yet we still do it. When will enough be enough? hopefully it wont be too late.

  4. Ashley Raynor says:

    I find it very interesting that with all the fish in the world, humans alone can make such a huge impact. It’s pretty scary how dangerous wem, as humans, are to our own environment. I feel like poeple will be concerned, but never concerned enough to make a definite change in the world. This will probably be an issue that is dealt with way too late or worried about after it is irreversible.

  5. Danielle Burke says:

    I also find it very surprising how great of an impact we’re making on the amount of fish in the ocean, globally. It makes me think, though, how much of the fish that we catch on a global scale goes to waste? Is there anyone really monitoring the exact supply and demand in a non-wasteful fashion and if not, and some sort of commission was organized to regulate this, could we help the problem in at least slowing down the rapid decline?

  6. Jillian :D says:

    Wow. I didn’t think overfishing was that bad until reading this post. The links incorporated in this post were very interesting to read. I especially like the Treehugger.com article. Reading the “5 Stories About Overfishing & What Can Be Done to Stop It” was eye opening. When I went fishing with my cousins I knew that there were certain fish you have to throw back, fishing regulations and the very first time I went fishing that happened to me. It was a pretty good sized fish, too. I think it was a snook that I caught. My cousin told me we had to throw it back in the water because we could get fined for catching a fish that was out of season. It’s weird to think about when fishing with friends about the problem of overfishing because you don’t think you catch that many fish. We never really think of how all the fish in the markets get there and who caught them or if they came from another country. If at least 1 out of 5 people read more articles about the overfishing problem we have something would be done about it. We need to stop and realize what we are doing to our environment before it’s way too late.

  7. Matthew Decker says:

    I think the realities of over fishing and the over harvesting of resources in general tie into the notion that our singular actions don’t have much effect on the world. Obviously though through our collected efforts, be they positive or negative can have a huge impact on our local environment as well as on the other side of the planet. So as consumers as a whole we need to be much more conscientious about the choices we make in regards to these issues, as they really do effect much more than we even realize.

  8. I think that science based fishing limits would be a great idea as suggested in one of the links except for the economic problems it would inevitably cause could be disastrous. At this point in society I feel like most problems are impossible to turn around due to the greedy nature of humans in general. It would be extremely difficult to enact any radical changes without significant uproar or some sort of dictatorship/utopian society.

  9. bhall1 says:

    It’s amazing how many fish humans consume every year. I guess I don’t see it first hand because I don’t eat fish on account of they taste nasty. I like the issue that is brought up about making certain fish fashionable by having celebrity cooks include certain species of fish in their dishes, that just happen to be endangered. People kind of turn their common sense off when its Bobby Flay cooking a delicious species at risk of depletion.

  10. Johanna Bystedt says:

    I think it is hard for people to imagine that fishing is like mining because we think, oh they’re fish, they’ll reproduce and we will have more where as mining is a taking away recourses that cant really be reproduced in a fast enough period. But it could get to the point where there aren’t enough fish to reproduce, and that leads to extinction and there we have it, a resource that can’t be recreated. It really is in a way like mining, I think that description is fitting, and a bit more eye opening that any other would be.

Leave a Reply

